Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally agreed that it is difficult to choose a career nowadays, due to the quickly changeable environment, a large number of jobs, and the more knowledge required to have a job. As a matter of fact, in the past, we can identify the job leading to security and success easier.

First of all, the world changes much more frequently than it used to be. With the emergence of new ideas and techniques, some jobs are created. However, there are also a lot of jobs disappearing, because the development of robots replaced them. Jobs such as timekeeper who earned a stable salary in the 1900s are disappeared completely. We cannot make sure that the career today will not be replaced in the future. Therefore, it is very difficult to distinguish a secure career.

What's more, the number of the kind of careers is increasing sharply. Comparing a few types of job in the past, the new appeared ones require people to collect more information to know about the background and the future of them. A wise decision often needs a lot of information in all aspects. The more types of the job, the more time consumed to collect this information.

Besides, the job opening today requires more professional knowledge, due to the detailed divided work. It is axiomatic that the knowledge you have in a certain field can hardly be used in an irrelated job. If you lose your job due to changes in the world, it would be difficult to find a job and make your fortune. However, careers in the past require more knowledge from different fields, which means you can find a new one easily.

In a nutshell, it was easier to identify and decide what kind of career you would take in the future, because of the more stable world in the past, the less kind of jobs, and the more knowledge from different fields. Therefore, we need to work harder to keep our job secure and successful.