Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leadership skills are somehow controversial. Some people believe that leaders are born leaders. However, other people holds that the abilities to be a successful leader could be taught. In my opinion, I disagree with the position that managing skills only comes naturally and cannot be gained. I contend that Although some individuals are biologically gifted to be leaders, they definitely need to improve these talents through experience and knowledge.

First and foremost, no one is born with the complete set of know-hows that are required for guiding others. This is mainly due to the fact that mastering many skills is required to be a great leader. Some people are born with a charismatic personality but their problem-solving and judgement capacities need some development. Other people are naturally determined and have a fascinating competence to get things done. Nevertheless, their character is not appealing to wide variety of individuals. Hence, most people are talented with some leadership skills but need to work hard to gain other demanded skills. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. I never thought of myself as a leader. Conversely, when I got a job as a store manager where I had to supervise other staff members, I realized I had some skills that enabled me to do well on that post. For instance, I discovered that I am a good listener and I seldom practice a rule of authority on others, which, in fact, made people more comfortable working with me. Unfortunately, my communication skills called for more attention. Consequently, I started taking communication skills courses, which had an enormous effect on my performance on the job.

Secondly, learning to be a leader could be achieved through experience and knowledge. Each process could be broken down into smaller steps. The ability to tackle certain problems could be accomplished through knowing the right sequence of decisions that are supposed to be taken to reach a resolution. To clarify, in my previous example, I doubted my ability to encourage and support people. As soon as I began to focus on what to do and when to do it to hone this skill, I was able to offer enough positive spirit for my subordinates. To illustrate, I found that complimenting associates when they come back to work after a vacation makes a huge difference as they become more efficient and eager to work harder. For all the aforementioned reasons, leadership skills could be attained through training and exposure.

In summation, I reject the idea that leadership is only a divinely given trait, but indeed it's a reward for hard work.