The reading done by students of his own is as important as, rather more important as, the reading given by the teachers as assignments. Support with relevant arguments and examples.

Students need to revise the lessons they are being taught in the classroom. As per our educational system, doing assignments is the best way to achieve it. Yet, I do agree that the reading done by students of his own is as important as, rather more important as, the reading given by the teachers as assignments. In what follows, this essay will explore a few points to help explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, there is a higher chance of a student identifying his weaknesses correctly when compared to the concerned teacher. A teacher has to address the entire class; hence it becomes difficult to give targeted assignments based on each students capabilities. Let me share a personal experience here. My maths teacher in school encouraged us to practice more of her suggested assignments on Calculus as it is considered to be tougher than other modules in general. Yet when I did my self-study, I knew that my weakness was not Calculus but Statistics.

Secondly, a student needs to understand the concepts taught in class with his perspective. This makes the student gain thorough and in-depth knowledge, helping him to think out-of-the-box and stand out among his classmates. According to recent studies made by the Board of Secondary Education in India, students who scored more than eighty per cent in their subjects had done reading and solved sample questions and test papers beyond the assignments suggested by their teachers.

Last but not least, skills of working in a team, being flexible and adaptable are some important life lessons that are required to boost our professional career. Only by doing assignments provided by the teacher, this is not fully achievable. One needs to willingly step into any club or lead a group project or get involved in group studies to inculcate such virtues. For instance, being a part of a college committee that took care of the robotics workshop taught me significant management skills that helped me ace my way through, in my first job.

To conclude, the assignments given by teachers is quite significant in terms of understanding a topic as per the university or school syllabus. Also, the teacher, by his profession, knows what assignments will help a student achieve analytical knowledge on any concerned topic. Yet, without self-study and investing time in researching about the topic or subject, a student will never be able to shine brighter than his classmates.