It has been said, “ Not all learning takes place in the classroom.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from personal experience with knowledge gained from classroom instruction. In your opinion, which source is more important?

The educational system throughout the world requires us to attend classroom lessons. To have a valid proof of our educational background, we are bound to attend such classes. Saying that it is undeniable to acknowledge the boons of learning through one's personal experiences. Hence, I completely agree with the statement in the question. In what follows, I will note down a few points to help explain the reason behind my stand.

To begin with, the nature of knowledge gained from classrooms generally have an academic or bookish approach. In most classroom sessions, learning is restricted to the syllabus decided by the educational authority. Owing to this syllabus, students fail to explore the subject from end to end. Let's consider an example of the time when I was preparing for my job interviews. Apart from what I learned through classroom lessons, I had to prepare myself by learning various types of programming languages and develop analytical skills by solving real-life problems through coding practices.

Secondly, we do have compulsory subjects like moral science in most preliminary schools, nowadays. Yet the only thing children learn out of those classroom sessions is how to score by writing the desired answer in the examinations. In reality, the morals that we end up embracing for life, are the ones gained from our daily experience. For instance, we have all learned about this line in our classrooms- "Fall seven times, stand up eight." Abraham Lincoln had lost eight elections, failed twice in business and had a nervous breakdown before he finally became the greatest President America ever had. So it is not the moral story we read in our textbooks but the journey of our lives that makes up fathom the real meaning of this quote.

Last but not least, personal experiences preach us the importance of resilience and determination. Let us consider a situation where we get a question related to a topic that is out of the scope of the syllabus. One can always raise a concern and the teacher might change the question or just let the student have some grace score. Unfortunately, life always comes full of surprises and does not wait for our acceptance. We become mentally stronger and more mature as we continue dealing with the unexpected.

To conclude, life is a lesson itself. But with a practical approach that our classroom lessons lack. If we want to stand out from the rest of the crowd, it is always wise to learn from our personal experiences.