Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. What type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies have always been an integral part of entertainment since their introduction to the human society. Decades ago we could only consider movies portraying glamour and class, no matter what the genre was. But over the years, there has a vast change in the concept. People are more willing than ever to look into the dark sides of reality through movies. I would personally prefer to watch movies that are serious and designed to make the audience think. In what follows, I will note down some points that can help to explain my stand.

To begin with, movies which are serious aims to create awareness in people regarding off-beat and sometimes controversial topic which in general we tend to avoid discussion about. Let us take the example of an Indian movie known as Padman. The movie is a biography of Arunachalam Muruganantham, a social entrepreneur from Coimbatore who invented low-cost sanitary napkins and the pad-making machine. He was further credited for the innovating grassroots mechanism for generating awareness about traditional unhygienic practices around menstruation in India. The film was received with great appreciation by the general audience and made everyone realise that discussing issues like this should not be a taboo but a way to elevate the development of women's health condition in the society.

Secondly, serious movies are often inspired by real-life stories and characters. Movies like this do not sugar-coat the reality. They dare to show the crisis or hardships of existence, without being afraid of any social or political agenda. For instance, the Indian movie named Kai Po Che was based on the Hindu-Muslim riot in Gujarat that had stirred the entire nation. The movie beautifully portrayed the co-dependent relationship between these two different cultures living in the same state. And at the same time, it did make the audience look into utter realities of hate that drove these two communities into violence against each other.

Last but not least, the concerned genre of movies have great significance in depicting the social pressures that each and everyone goes through at some point of time in their lives. Further, they bring to the audience, a diversity of consequences that result from the decisions taken under such obligations. Let's talk about the movie, A Dead Poet's Society here. Mr Perry, out of maintaining his standards in the society, forces his son to study medical science without even considering where his son's passion lies. Neil Perry, a character who stood full of life, could neither stand up to his father nor consider to bury his ideas under the social pressures, finally attempted suicide.

To conclude, movies that make people laugh or give them goosebumps out of horror or get people to taste the exquisiteness, entertain the audience at large. After a tedious day at work, one would cherish such movies as they help in keeping the stress down. Yet movies that are serious and make the audience think is what our society should be exposed to, to generate mass awareness that comes in rather an entertaining way instead of a monotonous documentary.