Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

Owing to the energetic and jubilant nature of young people, it mostly seems that they happen to cherish all aspects of life more than older people. They are at the age where they can attend clubs, hang out with their friends, travel without any health restrictions, etc.. Yet, I certainly disagree with the statement that younger people enjoy life more than older people do. In what follows, this essay will explore a few points to help explain my stand.

To begin with, the young people of this generation are busy running a race of cut-throat competition. Whereas, since the phase of undergoing hardships is over, older ones mostly get to enjoy their retired life. Let me share my household experience here. It's been two years since my father's retirement. At this age, he's being able to enjoy his life like never before, doing things he always wanted to do, such as going for longer and blissful holidays with acquaintances of same age group, reading novels, etc.. Quite unlike me, where I end up most of my time, chasing my office deadlines.

Secondly, older people have the opportunity to depend on their children or grandchildren for their needs. And if not on their children, older people can count their days in old age home which are responsible for taking complete care. Younger people not only have to be responsible for themselves but also has to consider looking after their aged family members, which might be too much to handle, at times. For example, older parents are always prioritized by their grown-up children, In case of any emergency or rather for even daily needs, old parents can relay on their children to help them with the situation. Such as older parents rely on their younger generation for bringing them medicines.

Last but not least, older people have less to worry since they have already left their toiling past behind. Let's say for instance that, there's no need for older people to worry about earning money because most of them can exploit their savings or pension or allowances from their children. Additionally, a study done by the University of Arizona a few years back, shows that when people were divided into groups of two- the older and the younger ones, the former group agreed to be in contempt with a simpler and less demanding lifestyle than their later counterpart.

Though it is not possible to deny the fact that older people are most prone to health problems, yet younger ones are not at all free from such sufferings. Moreover, as we start to age, human beings tend to realize it more that happiness comes from inner peace and tranquillity of mind, unlike young ones who invest quite a lot of time in chasing materialistic pleasures. Hence, that is why I believe that older people can enjoy life to its fullest form.