It's better to work from home using a computer or telephone than to do it from company's office? Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and examples to support your view.

As because of the recent Covid-19 situation, most of the professionals have been working from home. It has become the new normal yet complicated in many ways, especially due to it's least interactive nature. Imagine how difficult it is for a professor to teach the entire class through a skype video. I beg to disagree that it is better to work from home using a computer or telephone than to do it from the company's office. In what follows, I will note down a few points that can help to explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, office duration has fixed timings. So working from office forces us to abide by a particular schedule, encouraging employees to complete their work in time. Unlike at home where we can always be distracted by our family members and their activities. For example, let's consider a scenario where a person is living in a single room apartment with his wife and children. His wife could be giving a presentation to her students using a computer or over a phone and his child could be playing a noisy video game at the same time.

Secondly, when the employer knows that his employees do not have to travel when they are working using a telephone or a computer from home, employees are treated like oiling machines. For instance, the covid days have turned very difficult for people who are working from home. I hear complains from my friend that their managers are scheduling meetings so late that they have to dodge their dinner at times. Additionally, for my company, their common practice was to expect an employee work as long as he is remaining awake.

Last but not least, employers develop trust issues against their employes in a scenario where managers fail to interact with the later physically as in an office setting. To make sure that employees are always occupied, managers tend to overburden them with excess work and tends to incorporate micromanagement. An example of my colleague's situation here would be suitable. He was exasperated when he had to answer every personal holding managerial post in the team about the work he is doing every day. Not only that but also had to fill his timesheet every day instead of doing it weekly. Dropping emails and filling up spreadsheets for this purpose took a lot of time from his working schedule and he ended up extending his working hours every day.

To conclude, it becomes quite complicated when one cannot connect physically to make sure the smooth execution of a task or a project. Also, there is no doubt how difficult it becomes to work using a phone or a computer from home when our internet starts acting up.