A recent study reveals that people especially young people are reading far less literature,novels, plays, and poems, than they used to. This is troubling because the trend has unfortunate effects for the reading public, for culture in general, and for the future of literature itself. While there has been a decline in book reading generally, the decline has been especially sharp for literature. This is unfortunate because nothing else provides the intellectual stimulation that literature does. Literature encourages us to exercise our imaginations, empathize with others, and expand our understanding of language. So by reading less literature, the reading public is missing out on important benefits. Unfortunately, missing out on the benefits of literature is not the only problem. What are people reading instead? Consider the prevalence of self-help books on lists of best sellers. These are usually superficial poorly written, and intellectually undemanding. Additionally, instead of sitting down with a challenging novel, many persons are now more likely to turn on the television, watch a music video, or read a Web page. Clearly, diverting time previously spent in reading literature to trivial forms of entertainment has lowered the level of culture in general. The trend of reading less literature is all the more regrettable because it is taking place during a period when good literature is being written. There are many talented writers today, but theylack an audience. This fact is bound to lead publishers to invest less in literature and so support fewer serious writers. Thus, the writing as well as the reading of literature is likely to decline because of the poor standards of today's readers.

The reading excerpt states that people are reading far less literature, novels, plays, and poem, this is troubling because the trend has unfortunate effects for the reading public, for culture in general and for the future of literature itself. The author provides three reasons for support. However, the lecture's audio claims that there are a lot of problems with the author theories and she refutes each of them.

First, the article avers that the decline of literature will affect the intellectual stimulation that literature dose as it encourages imagination. In contrast, the professor opposes this idea by stating that people may read books other than the literature books and also will improve their intellectual stimulation such as history or political science books which also enhance the imaginations. Consequently, this theory cannot support the author's belief.

Second, the passage posits that diverting time previously spent in literature to trivial forms of entertainment has lowered the level of culture in general. On the other hand, the speaker argues this point by saying that do not read literature and books in general, this is not mean the literature is in decline because may enrich their mind with non-written sources such as movies or music, for example, listening to a brilliant sound, moreover, the culture changes and people may like to listen to speech directly. So, this point of view cannot champion the author's statement.

Third, the excerpt mentions that this fact bound to lead publishers to invest less in literature and so support fewer serious writers. In contrary, the lecturer counteracts this theory and explains that it is maybe not the audience fault, but, the writer may write in a difficult way that is arduous for people to read. Thus, this outlook contradicts what the professor discussed.