rewarding school-age children with money

Parents have the most significant effects on their children characteristics, so they should try to raise their children carefully. One of the controversial parent's react toward their kids' education is rewarding them with money. While some psychologists believe that it has many adverse influence on children mental condition, some others play devil's advocate and state that it is one of the most impressive behavior which every parents can do for their children. In my view, reacting school-aged children with money when they get good scores in their school, has many beneficial impacts on their personality for two main reasons.

First, according to the famous experiment of Skinner who found out learning behavior in animals, a living creature, in general, will repeat an action if gains plausible experiences from doing that. For example, consider a rat which has a cage. In this cage scientists provide a lever connected to a food source. Over time, the rat will notice the correlation between the lever and food pieces which are fallen for it after pushing the lever, and after a while, it learns pushing the lever means food, and the repetition of pushing- lever behavior occurs. We call this behavior learning and when parents offer their children money when they get good grades, they will learn good grades mean money and because money is a plausible reaction, they will try harder to get more good grades. As a result, this kind of rewarding behavior helps children to demonstrate more enthusiasm for their schools and lessons.

Furthermore, giving money to children provide an opportunity for them to learn how to spend their money, in other words, how to control their budget. This skill is one of the building blocks which is essential for them to become a successful person in the future. For instance, when i was a kid, my father used to reward me money when I got grades. This rewards taught me how to invest my money efficiently and how to spend my money wisely. Hence, when I am twenty years old, I Know how to manage my budget which is certainly a fruit of my father's behavior toward my grades.

To put it in a nutshell, I believe that reward school-aged children with money when they acquire good grades has many advantages. First, they become more industrious toward their lessons and second, they will lean how to invest, spend and manage their budgets.