Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Professor evaluating system is getting more and more popular in my country, Taiwan, which is located in the eastern part of Asia. Thus, I agree with the idea that schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers, just as students being graded for their academic performance, in order to gain improvement in educational quality and make courses more adapted to students’ needs.

Teachers can examine their teaching methods for maximizing students’ learning performance through the evaluating system. Take my university, National Taiwan University, which is situated at the capital city of Taiwan, Taipei, as an example. My major is in English and our department often encourages professor to teach literature in a multimedia way, which includes documentaries, power points, the sound files of literary works, and so on. Therefore, at the end of the semester, students are always asked about whether teachers use adequate multimedia teaching techniques to enrich the materials. Through these surveys, professors become more and more willing and familiar with this new way of lecturing, which further captures students’ interest in the subjects and makes the materials easier to memorize.

In addition, with the evaluating policy, teachers can better understand what students really want to know more about. Take my translation class for instance. Our professor used to spend lots of time explaining translation theories. However, we actually wanted to have more hands-on experience on real-time translation assignment. Thus, we voiced our concerns during the evaluating period and finally persuaded our professor into adjusting the syllabus conforming to our needs to have more discussion on translation cases. After a semester of learning, not only did I understand some of the related theories, but I was also fully equipped to demonstrate translating skills in real works.

In conclusion, I believe that lecturers are supposed to be evaluated by their students. This measure can help encourage teachers to adopt more novel methods of teaching and also allow students to be part of the course design which really caters to their learning objects.