Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Historic buildings retain the history of cities. Many people want to keep and preserve these historic buildings. In my opinion, I would rather destroy them to build modern buildings for two reasons.

Firstly, modern buildings benefit people more than historic buildings do. As the increasing of population and development of technology, people demand more shelters, entertainment options, and foods. Therefore, people need modern buildings with shops, apartments and game centers to comfort human’s life. Moreover, some historic buildings have been recorded in a history book by picture and no longer be useful. For that reason, the government should replace some historic buildings with up-to-date buildings.

Secondly, historic buildings capable of many dangers. Historic buildings don’t have a stable structure due to exposing to natural factors in a long period of time. Hence, the buildings could fall down easily and injure tourists or could even cause death. In that case, all the damages and responsibilities would come to the government. As the result could cause arguments between government and citizens.

On the other hand, some modern buildings have a very precious and special structure that needed a lot of time to build in the past. Therefore, many people want to preserve those such buildings and think that destroying old buildings is an act of disrespect to our ancestors. However, technology now is at peak and old artistic buildings can be built just in a short amount of time.

To sum up, although some old buildings kept our ancestors’ effort, I still totally disagree to keep so much old buildings and support building modern buildings for its direct benefits to people's life and dangerous old buildings.