Should a city try to preserve its old, historical buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on whether city should keep the historical buildings or not. While some people believe that historical buildings should be destroyed and replaced by big towers, I hold the opposite view. I think governments should preserve their historical sites.

To begin with, when cities keep their historical buildings and do not destroy them, they can preserve their identity. Historical buildings represent people’s culture. Most people tend to connect structural sculpture and historical places to the culture who lived in that place. For example, the pyramids in Egypt can tell people about the huge royal family that lived at that time. These people were very tall and strong to build that big structure. Therefore, without observing pyramids in Egypt, People would not know much about the ancient who lived in Egypt long time ago. Furthermore, archeologists were able to find the style of cooking for ancient Egyptian people by examining some tools inside the pyramid. As a result, people until now know the identity and all the traditional attitude for ancient Egyptian. They would not know that if these historical sites were destroyed.

Adding to the previous point, preserving historical buildings enable governments to improve their economic status. They can earn a lot of money from tourists who come and visit these historical places. For instance, the government in Paris improved their income in 2002 to double by allowing tourists to pay a fee when they were visiting Evil Tower. Another example is that the United Sates government made a lot of money in 2005 from tourists who came and visit the State of Librety in New York city. Obviously, most governments can increase their income by preserving their historical sites and open them to tourists.

In conclusion, I encouraged governments to keep all historical sites in the same place and invest more money to keep them.