Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on whether people are happier today than in the past or not. While some people believe that people in the past have many things that make their life enjoyable, I hold the opposite view. I think the advent of technology makes people’s lives happier than in the past.

To begin with, people today have many small electronic devices that allow them to communicate with family. They can talk every day with family and friends and share all events that make them happy. For example, I bought my iPhone when I came here to the United States, so I was able to talk with my mother and my friend Hassan twice a day. These calls made my days and allowed me to get a big boost to finish my study. On the other hand, people in the past lack electronic devices that allowed them to contact with people who loved. As a result, they become worried about each other and lack the communication happiness.

In addition to electronic devices, people today are able to travel in short time. There are many ways of transportation that help them to be more comfortable. For instance, people use the airplane to go from Japan to France. It only takes few hours to arrive there, moreover, people will set in very comfortable seats that sometime become beds for sleeping purposes. Unlike people in the past, they used to travel on their horses for many months in order to reach their destination. Furthermore, they might have some diseases from the direct exposure to heavy dust and winds.

Last but not least, people today have perfect health treatment methods that make their life easier. They can survive from several critical diseases because there are many cure options. For example, Mohamed Ali was able to live several years with his Parkinson Disease because he was treated in very advance hospital at Arizona State. Thus, he was happy to live more years with his family and fans. Unlike people in the past, they died immediately when they suffer from any diseases.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people today are happier than people in the past. This is not only because they have electronic devices to contact with family, but also they can travel easily and cure their diseases.