Should government spend more money on improving roads than highway, or should government spend more money on improving public transportation.

Development in transportation system is vitally for all government. Some people believe that governments must allocate more budget to develop and extend its roads and freeways, but others belief that public transportation is more important than roads. In my point of view, second is more important. This essay will gives some reasons which will discuss during following paragraphs.

First of all, the most significant merit of public transportation development is reducing air pollution rate. These days air pollution and global warming is the issue of all scientists and governments. In cities, especially mega city, people need to use vehicle to go for working, shopping, cinema and etc. So they must use their vehicle or public transportation. The greenhouse gas which emissions by personal cars increase air pollution, however by using public transportation this problem will be solve.

Furthermore, by developing public transportation system, people will use its financial advantages. To use personal car persons must spend a lot of money for its fuel, insurance, fixing and other costs. While, if people use public transportation, they will allocate a little proportion of their budget for transport. For instance, in Tehran (capital of Iran), as price of gas is higher than word’s average price, people need to spend a quarter of their income for transportation. Although, this will be diminish to five percent by using metro or BRT.

Last but not less, almost all cities suffer from traffic and crowd that is consequence of cars. Wasting time, lower efficiency and headache are the problems that brought about via traffic. Public transportation prevent from these problem, because it moves people in large scale. According to the recent article which published by world economy and healthy (WEH), people average spend two hours in traffic each days, whereas this can decrease to half by using public transportation.

In conclusion, personally I think improve public transportation system is more important than roads. Three major reasons were discussed to support this idea which were includes of air pollution, financial aspect and traffic.