Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

National government has a powerful impact on our lives. The government is responsible for education, defense, and even transportation. Everyday millions of dollars in tax revenue are invested in transportation projects. Some people believe that the government should invest a majority of that money on improving roads and highways. Others disagree. In my view, public transportation represents the best investment for two main reasons.

The first is health. Cars are a significant source of pollution. They emit poisonous gases that harm not only our health but also our entire ecosystem. For example, many of my friends run to stay healthy and some of them subscribe to a running magazine. This magazine published an article a few weeks ago about the dangers of running on the street. Surprisingly, the article didn’t focus on car accidents and poor drivers but on pollution. It stated that running in streets with heavy traffic could actually prove more harmful than helpful since runners breathe at an accelerated rate and streets with busy traffic are saturated with the poisonous exhaust of so many cars. Consequently, runners take in a larger than normal amount of those pollutants. This is just one organism in our ecosystem that is being negatively affected. With a serious investment in public transportation, fewer people will drive and we can begin to limit the harm done to our environment and our health. As you can see, more investment in public transportation is best.

The second reason is convenience. Most public transportation systems do not receive enough funding. Governments don’t invest heavily enough so the system tends to be very inconvenient and out-of-date. Few buses result in poor service and the buses are often old and uncomfortable. Not only do buses suffer from lack of investment but all other forms of public transportation such as trains and subways do as well.For instance, when I was in high school, I took summer school at a school located around 15 miles from my house, a long distance to walk. I didn’t have a car, so I took a bus. In the morning, the bus would usually be on time, but after school, in the afternoon, buses would run late and be overcrowded because there weren’t enough to meet the demand. Also, these buses were old, dirty, and often marked with graffiti. That’s one of the main reasons why I bought a car. If public transportation were better, it would have been more convenient than driving my own car. I wouldn’t have had to spend my money; I would have been able to study on the way to and from school; and I would have enjoyed the experience of a nice comfortable ride. This experience taught me that public transportation seriously needs more funding.

In conclusion, it’s government’s responsibility to ensure that our health is protected. It’s also essential for a government to work to improve the quality of life of its citizens. Those are the key reasons why more money should be invested in public transportation than on roads and highways. Such an investment will improve the lives of the average taxpayer and we should all support it.