Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Public transportation is a one of the very important aspects of a modern city. It is essential critical in large cities and millions of population use it in huge cities like New York, Tokyo and etc. Germane to this fact, a question that is matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether governments should improve public transportation or build more highways. I think governments should spend more money on improving public transportation rather than improving roads and highways because of three main reasons. Although building highways has a matter of importance as well, opposing the prevailing view, I'm personally on the belief that governments should spend more money on improving public transportation and the importance of the former takes precedence over that of the latter.

One compelling reason deserving to be mentioned is that First, it can help the environment and reduce air pollution. As you know one of the most challenging problems that major cities are faces is air pollution. A vivid example will shed more light on this issue For example, in Tehran, my home city, the air is always polluted and unclear. As the reports say, many people die because of heart diseases and cancer, and air pollution has a major role key in such cases. I think if a city like Tehran has an advanced and comfortable public transportation, more people would will be encouraged to use it, since it is cheaper and can save them money. This will lead to less usage of personal cars and it can will contribute a lot to air cleanliness.

Another point substantiating my stance which is equally important, if not more, is that Second, it can reduce traffic. Traffic in huge cities has have become a big problem that affects people psychologically and improving public transportation can make it better. Furthermore, When you are in hurry to get to your work or an important deal, being trapped in traffic is really annoying. For instance, I remember that once I was going for a job interview and I was late already, and the traffic caused me to arrive to the office even later. The amount of stress I had in that was somewhat something that I cannot put it in words. I think with a proper transportation system, there will be less traffic and so people's life will get better and healthier. Moreover, Furthermore the cities will be less crowded and look more beautiful.

Third, if governments spend money on public transportation, everyone would benefit from it. Conversely improving roads and highways will be more beneficial for those who tend to use their private vehicles a lot and this doesn't seem just enough. So, I think with a proper public transportation everyone would benefit. Those prefering to use public transportation will have more convenient trips, those who prefer to use private vehicles will enjoy less traffic, and even more those prefering to walk or bicycle can enjoy pretty less crowded streets.

To recapitulate In sum I think spending money on public transportation is a kind of investment that can solve many problems and surely the money spent on it will not be wasted. In the end I want to indicate that the reasons I provided don't mean the governments should spend nothing on highways and road, since it will have a lot of advantages too. But I think there should be a kind of planning for the governments' budget and it seems wiser to spend more on public transportation.