Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are very important in everyone's life. You spend a lot of time in your life with them in many stages of your life. in school, college, work and etc you are always in connection with many of them. Some believe it is important to maintain friendship with small number of people in a long time, while others think it's important to be able to make new friendships easily. I think althugh the first view is true to some degrees the second view is more important.

First and foremost, you will always face new situations in your life, whether you like it or not. You cannot stay in the same place and do the same activities throghout your life, and this forces you to meet new people. So it is essential to have the ability to communicate with them and make new friendships. For instance, I used to go to a school in my childhood near our home where i had a lot of friends there, but when our family moved to another city, in Hamedan, I couldn't be in contact with like before, so I had to communicate with new people. At first weeks that I went to school there, it was terrible for me. I couldn't talk or play with anyone. But after several week, I started to find new friends that helped me a lot. We played together, went outside in our leisure time and helped each other in lessons and every thing started to be great again. The same expierince happened for me when I went to study for college in Tehran, and I'm sure will happen again. So it's crucial for us to make new friendships in new situations.

Second, making new friendships enable you to experience new thing that you haven't before, and this adds diversity in your life and makes it more enjoyable. For example, when I went to college I got familiar with groups of people that went to mountain climbing every weekend. I hadn't experienced this before that and they invited me to join their group and go to the mountains with them, and I happily agreed. The first time that I went with was a great expierince. When we reached the top I could see the whole city and the weather was so clean, and the enviroment was so beautiful that I didn't want to leave. I decided to go with them every weekend and this has made me much happier and also stronger, since it is a great exercise too.

So generally speaking, making new friendships can ease our life a lot and is very essential. In the end I want to indicate that first kind of view is also true, althogh the second is more important. So it's better to keep your old friendships, if possible, as well as making new friendships.