Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, subways)? Why?

Traveling and people transportation is one of the main issues that governments should deal with in every city or country because; it helps people from different parts of a region to connect with each other easily. Some experts suggested that states must expand their roads and highways for having a better transportation system. However, some others believe that public transportation infrastructures help city officials to manage the city accordingly. I think public transportation development can benefit us more effectively due to some reasons.

First, public transportations provide their consumers with a cheap and safe means of traveling which everybody from any class of society can use them without any concern about its cost. If you wanted to travel to another city with your own vehicle, it may cost you so much, since the price of gasoline and car insurances increased drastically. So, it would be very difficult for a person with a low-income to even buy or rent a car. Generally, Public transportations like buses or trains created a good and efficient system that could be used by every person.

Secondly, as we know these days environmental problems have turned into one the chief concerns of engineers and scientists, since the amount of green house gas emissions like carbon dioxide have been raised uncontrollably. Building highways and new roads just help the contractors to destroy more jungles and natural sites to create a way for humans to enter them easily and ruin the little fresh environments left for our children in the future. So, we will protect these sections by demanding our governments to build more public transportation systems.

Last but not least, expansion of public transportations have more possibilities to create a large number of job offers in any place hopefully. For example, my uncle Jim is an engineer who lost his job during economic depression period. But, when city council decided to rebuild and expand our cities train system and bus terminals not only he was offered a job but also his fellow coworkers who were unemployed found a new occupation by this project.

In conclusion, transportation and traveling system is a crucial matter that should be paid enough attention to execute the best strategy about their future. I believe that public systems may assist to settle the amount of pollutions and keeping our nature safe too.