Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Transportation is very crucial to today society. Our economy heavily depends on transportation, our modern lifestyle relies on it and so forth. There was always a huge debate about which type of transportation is better and the government should support it more. Actually, this is a local decision and it depends on the local factors. But from my view, the better type of transportation is highways and roads and the government should fund them more than other types. In the following paragraphs, I will explain my reasons.

First, Highways are very effective in increasing economic growth. One of the major factors in GDP in every country is commercial activities such as imports and exports, even though trades inside the country, and this isn't possible without proper roads and highways. Recently one study conducted by EU, which measured the impacts of funding infrastructure like highways, found that every one billion investment in highways increases almost 7 billion in GDP in the next 10 years. Also, it is obvious that through history we can't find any prosperous country with weak transportation tools like roads. It's clear that roads and highways play a very important role in developing the economy in every country.

The second reason is that roads are a vital part of going trip and journeys. Today, almost every used to go on the trip on holidays or even on weekends. Also, many people use their own car to go trip, which depends on the roads and highways. With good highways, people will have a great time in their vacations and their time won't be wasted in traffic. I remember that first year I came to Tehran to go to the Tehran university there was a lot of traffic at Meydan Daneshgah square, and it took a lot of time to go home. Also, the Tehran-Karaj highways weren't complete. But after two years mayor constructed a bridge on Meydan Daneshgah square, and after 3 years the Tehran-Karaj highway completed. As a result, now there is less traffic in Meydan Daneshgah square, also many people use Tehran-Karaj highway to go to vacations easily and they enjoy more from their trip to the north of Iran. So the roads could increase the happiness of life for many people and although save a lot of time for them.

It is undeniable that transportation is very vital in human life. In my perspective, the best type of transportation is roads and highways, and the government should support them and fund them more. These supports will result in increased economic growth and enjoyment of life for many people. That's why everyone should support building new roads and highways.