should we devote time and money to building a space station on the moon or Mars? Why or why not? Explain your answer

Advanced technology is important, but it should not obsess people. Developing a space station would undoubtedly enhance the modern technology; however, the world still has many urgent issues which lay unsolved. Those include education-related problems, deadly diseases, and the youth who need to be redirected. These issues are the ones that really need to be addressed in the first place.

Firstly, there are still many regions in the world where education is not well developed. From the article " the luckiest girl" by Nicolas Kristoff, a Kenyan girl who had no hope of getting an education due to poverty became the first person to get the highest degree in her region. This was because of a goat that was donated to her family to increase their income. If a donated goat can make a significant impact on a person, imagine the changes that would occur if the huge amount of money, that would have been used to build a space station, was invested in education. I believe the world would be much better as it will be filled with literate people.

Moreover, people who are dying from the lack of adequate medical treatments need urgent rescue. For instance, in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ebola is resulting in countless deaths, for the virus has taken unprecedented forms that doctors are unable to handle. If funds were raised to control deadly diseases, they would enable doctors to research more about the virus in advanced laboratories, which would boost their ability to cure those diseases. Thus, caring for people's well being by supporting the medical sector should be the world's priority.

Finally, the world's youth is facing fatal problems like drug abuse yet they are the future leaders of the world. Rehabilitation centers are one of the most efficient ways to overcome this issue. However, there are only two rehabilitation centers in Rwanda, my home country, while it still has a high percentage of young people who are drug addicts. This is not due to the Rwandan government not willing to help the youth, but it is because there is a shortage of income to invest in rehabilitation centers. Therefore, it is inferred that nations should opt to invest in solving the problems with their youths instead of developing space stations.

To sum up, though building a space station would be a remarkable achievement for the whole world, they are still many issues, such as inadequate education, poor health care services, as well as juvenile drug abuse that should be solved beforehand.