People learn things better from those at their own level- such as fellow students or co workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Teaching and learning are two phenomenon which goes together. If one is not taught in a good manner, the probability that he or she understand the subject being taught is at a very low level. I believe that people learn better from those at their own level because it creates for those who are learning a safe environment for asking, it is more easy for the own on ones'level to emphatize with him or her, and it will reduce the complexity that would otherwise be involved in the the teaching part.

Firstly, people are more likely to open up to the ones in the same age range that they are not understanding the subject. Knowing that the learner is not getting the lesson makes the learning process more effective as it helps the teacher to understand that may be he or she should shift to another teaching method which would make it easier for the learn. However, the learners might fear a teacher who is very old compared to them which can hinder them from understanding the concept as the teacher will stop teaching thinking that the learner have got it because of absence of questions. Therefore, learning with a peer is more productive.

Secondly, It is much more easy for a peer to empathize with each other than it is for a teacher to a student. This can make a student feel that even though he or she is failing, they are still a change to improve. For instance, there was a chapter in Math that I had failed to understand. I had tried all my best I even went to the teacher for advises, but they could not help me because I was feeling that I was the only one to whom things were difficult. Finally, a friend of mine came and motivated me. She told me how she have also gone through such thing, and finally she helped me to learn that chapter. From then, I got a full understanding of that chapter. This was because all I need was not just explanations; I needed someone to empathize with and my friend was the best candidate.

In addition, students explain to each other in a less complex way. Students know more about what is making their fellow to not understand; therefore, they are able to come up with a simplified form to explain the concept. To illustrate, when I was still in senior six, our physics teacher introduced the topic of atomic physics. He was teaching us about it as if we already know it; almost class did not understand that topic. One of our classmates who had understood it, asked the teachers some time to share with the class what he knew. However, this time the topic seemed to be so simple because he used examples that were familiar to use and that made it is for us to understand. Thus, even though teacher might have much knowledge they might some time not be able to know how to share that knowledge with their students.

To sum up, even though teachers might have experience and high degrees of education, their teaching manner is not as effective as the teaching provided by a student to his or her fellow because it is more easy to ask a question to your fellow, fellow can empathize with the student which can motivate them, the teaching are less complex.