Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks

In today’s societies, the question of whether a government should place a tax on the junk food and snacks has become a controversial issue among people in many circles and camps. different people have diverse types of responses to this topic based on their social, cultural, or even familial backgrounds. However, as far as I’m concerned, I believe that the government must enact this tax for some reasons that I elaborate them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing comes to mind right off the bat is that put a tax on fatty foods can help the health condition of people. In fact, when the government legislates this tax, the price of junk foods will increase. Accordingly, the demand for these foods will diminish and people move toward more cheaper food that may be healthier. Therefore, the statistics of diseases such as diabetes and obesity that related to fatty foods will reduce noticeably. Let’s make a brief explanation about that. I remember that when the Iranian government heightened the tax of cigarette, the total numbers of cigarette that was sold annually experienced significant reduction. Hence, government’s tax not only doesn’t have any drawback but also have a lot of merits.

Another noteworthy thing that should be mentioned is that the government use their tax’s income for public affairs. In other words, the money that was gathered through junk food tax can use for advertising versus the over-consumption of snack food. So, scientific advertisement provides a lot of useful information about the demerit of fatty food. Consequently, people try to decrease this type of food from their diets. Let me shed a light on my point. According to the research that was published in a well-known journal, scientist found out that negative advertising with interesting content can have a remarkable effect on human behavior. They recognize that must of the people didn’t inform about the serious disadvantages of some harmful things. Thus, if government use the unhealthy food tax to improve the publish awareness, this tax will have a very good result.

In conclusion, there are a plenty of reasons to show that enacting tax on fatty convenient foods have a lot of advantages. First, it ameliorates the health condition of people. Second, it provides enough money to make a negative advertisement against these foods. Hence, it is essential that government place an appropriate tax on the junk foods.