Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better ( for example by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward others). Which one action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that people's behavior has changed over time. In this regard, children's traits have also evolved and differ from the past. There has been no shortage of debates among parents on whether it is more beneficial to limit the types of programs that children watch or supervise them more clearly to know about their activities while playing with friends. Meanwhile, the is a tendency toward the notion that spending more time with children will yield much more essential outcome. As for this writer's opinion, I subscribe to the latter idea. In what follows, I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that parents by dedicating more time to their children will be able to build a stronger relationship with them. It is crystal clear that those individuals who spend lots of time talking are aware of each other's problems and ideas. Thus, these friends will be able to play a role in solving each other's problems. As a result, their friendship will grow stronger, and they will respect each other. It is worth mentioning that if parents do such activity, they earn their children's trust and respect. By way of illustration, I was a troubled boy in second grade. I remember that I had lots of fights with everyone in our school, and also I shouted at my parents. Only when my father started to talk to me about my behavior and my daily life, did I realize that my act was not suitable. After that day, not only did I respect my family, but I also recognized that I could rely on them while having harsh times. This example manifests how parents can capture their child's heart and make them deferential toward anyone only by talking and spending time with them.

Furthermore, the other mentioned avenues are not practical and plausible. It is axiomatic that if children know that others are observing them, they will bear a defiant attitude in order to prove their free will in their lives. Thus, monitoring them will undoubtedly exacerbate the situation. In addition, parents cannot entirely limit the type of TV shows that children watch. Children owing to the state of their age will get more curious about some materials or information that they do not have access. My personal experience drives this concept home, when I was seven years old, I loved watching action movies. However, my mother did not allow me to watch those movies on the grounds that those films incorporated blood and death. Despite my mother's strenuous efforts, I managed to sneak behind her back and borrow some videos from my friends. Hence, her approach was not useful. Had she only spent some time describing the reason for her acts, I would not have spied on those movies. This example reveals my point.

By perusing the paragraphs above, one can infer that the best way to enhance children's behavior is by talking to them. For the sake of brevity, a couple of points are worth reiterating, first: It will lead children to be respectful; Second, monitoring them and limiting their access to TV programs will worsen the situation. As for this writer's advice, I vehemently urge parents to spend more time with their children and do not underestimate the role of talking in forming their personality.