Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child Why do you think some

Putting "too much" pressure on any individual in any scenario has negative effects on productivity. However, I believe that the threshold for "too much" is a very subjective decision to make. Oftentimes, as in human nature, kids or adult ones, opt to choose the path of least resistance. It means that in school if a kid is getting away by just finishing the bare minimum understanding of a subject, he/she would opt to do so. However, it might not be in the best interest of the child to avoid "tough" tasks. Thus, for a child a right balance of challenge and fun should be offered for the sake of overall development, and not just for a good performance in school.

Some parents who put excessive pressure on their children for good performance at school should adopt a much broader definition of excellence beyond the school curriculum. Famously, Albert Einstein once said that you cannot access the talent of a fish by asking it to climb up a tree. In a similar way, an education system might not be the best fit for a child to excel in their field of interest. In such a case, early identification of the child's interest and talent is crucial for him/her to flourish.

Role of the parent lies in the identification of the child's interest and timely tracking of their progress. Unlike a popular belief that parents are responsible for a child's educational performance, I personally believe that the parent's role should primarily focus on the emotional needs of the child to support him/her through the system, such that with proper means he/she could excel in the field which they want. At the same time, since the children oftentimes consider their parents as their role models, parents should demonstrate their values by acting on it. For example, if we want our children to develop reading skills, reading a book ourselves would be a great thing to inspire the children.