Some parent offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In today’s world, as A result of sever competition in labor market, education plays a significant role in children’s life in order to make them ready for their future jobs and help them become more employable. The question is how these students should be motivated. While some parents think that offering their children a prize for each good mark they get is a proper incentive, my firm believe is that the disadvantages of this method outweigh its advantages. The reasons support this idea are manifold, the two most conspicuous of which are as follows: these prizes do not work in long-term and they also can have bad effects on the children’s future.

First of all, external motivations usually have adverse effects on people when it comes to crucial tasks. Recent research conducted by Harvard University’s faculty of education found that although this kind of motivation can improve people’s performance in short-term, it is more likely to have negative impacts on individuals’ performance over time because it gradually reduces the internal motivations. The point here is that important things like education should be propelled by internal incentives. For instance, students should try hard in school because they want to acquire knowledge in order to lead a satisfying life in the future; however, if parents give them prize for each good grades, they will gradually forget the main reason of education. This is obvious that the more trivial a goal is, the less efforts one makes to achieve it, which means that this method finally decreases the performance of students.

Another reason for this idea is that in doing so students’ mind become conditional, which cause them many difficulties in the future. When parents give their children gifts for every good grades, the children will gradually learn that there should be a reward for every proper action that they do, but the real world is not like this at all. Consequently, these children will have problems in their workplaces when they grow up and enter the professional jobs; if they do not receive prize for every things they do they suddenly become disappointed and stop trying. For instance, an employee, which has been brought up in this way, cannot tolerate the fact that hardworking does not necessarily results in immediate promotion or raise, which causes him to get frustrated and stop working hard. Now, it is undoubtedly clear why rewarding children for every good grades they get, can influence their future adversely.

Thus, with all this taken into account, it is fair to conclude that giving children money for all their great grades is not a proper method to motivate them because it is destructive in the long-term and it also harms their professional life.