Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Nowadays smart phones are inevitable part of our life, they have eased the way we live in many ways. However, does that mean that children need to own smart phones too? Many parents think that this is good idea to raise children, technology friendly and give their children free access of smart phone. But I'm not agree with this idea, Smart phones are not created for children.

Glaring at digitals monitors can cause serious damages to kid’s eyes. Children in young ages have very weak and vulnerable eyes. They are still growing and their eyes are in the developing phase, which needs a great care and attention. I have a cousin who owned a smart phone when she was very young and she would play games on her phone for many hours per day. She had healthy eyes when she was born, but at the age of 8 suddenly her eyes became weaker and she started to wear glasses. Her doctor claimed that this damage is caused by her intense use of smart phone. As you can see, smart phones can be very harmful for young children eyes and it can lead to serious damages.

Cell phones with internet access are an open door to the huge unrestricted virtual world, which is not always appropriate for children. One wrong click can lead to harmful and violent content on the internet and it can be dangerous for children emotions. For instance, many of gaming apps offer free games in exchange of showing ads. Some of these ads are not suitable for children or if you click on them, they can lead you to improper explicit contents. Therefore, unrestricted internet access on phones can be harmful for children.

In conclusion, smart phones are not created for children; they are not suitable for them. Although others may believe that smart phones are important too for keeping in touch, I think that disadvantages outweigh the advantages and we should not let young children own smart phones. We should let children grow naturally, without distraction and damages of smart phones.