Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

The world is developing at a fast pace. With its advancement, every day we get to see new electronic devices. The harmful effects caused by these are more as compared to the advantages received from them. So, I strongly agree with the statement that ' parents should forbid young children from owning a smartphone, especially cell phones with internet access .'

When a young child gets stick to a cell phone, it becomes very easy for him to get diverted away from his academics. He becomes too busy with phone. Instead of focussing on studies, his concentration is over the internet, games, social media etc.

Ultimately, he loses his track of goal and may even spoil his career.

Secondly, every computerized device always emits radiations in and around his surroundings. These transmissions can affect the human brain. Also, while operating such devices the child is bound to sit in the same position for long hours, which is a major reason for back pains and other bone-related issues.

Thirdly, while using internet over cell phones, there might be chances that the child can come in contact with bad people. It is very easy for anyone to convince the young generation to do any illegal activity and many proofs of such issues can be seen in the newspaper every one or the other day.

Last but not the least, when young students develop a habit of sticking to cell phone, they rarely go out to do some outdoor activity and interact with any new person. As a result, the child may become lonely and might not have that many friends. They lose contact with the outside world and start living in a virtual world of theirs.

For instance, when I was in the first year of my graduation. I was gifted a new phone by my parents. As soon as it came into my hands, I started observing some significant changes in myself (after some months). My number of friends started going down and I became less interactive. I rarely went out to do some exercise and even started to use the phone during the night, when I was supposed to be studying at that time .

To sum up, I would just say that the cell phone was created only for our own benefit. There should be limited use of this device, so that we do not get affected by them.