Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

In general, children who go school, especially first or second grade students, enjoy playing and having fun as much as they can. Since both their teachers and parents want them to study hard for passing exams. There are plenty strategies to encourage or force the children to study harder. Many people want to know whether it is a perfect way to encourage student by offering them money or not. A common idea is that this strategy is unlikely as well as the others, but I personally repudiate it. In what follows, I will delve into two reasons to shed light on my response.

First reason that comes to my mind is that offering money leads to better educational system. parents can have the most viable effects on their children; if the parents offer some valuable issues, like money, to their school-age children, the students would practice and study harder to get them. As a result, the parents help growing education system even in the children’s home, which will be counted as the teacher’s assistances. Based on a research on two different educational system of primary schools in US and Switzerland, one of the most influential factors, which caused the better educational system of US, was financial supports of children’s parents. Most of the students of US’s primary schools were encouraged for marks they’d gotten by their parents with amounts of money.

Second, should offering money be one of the best strategies for school-age children, they can learn how hard earning money is. Children, especially in those ages, like to play with their toys, which are expensive enough to not be bought by children. Parents can offer their children amounts of money per each high mark in the school, and children will know that although it needs really hard studies for high marks, it can be prized by something that make them able to buy their toys. As I remember, when I was an eight years old child, I was in love with weapon toys, but I was prevented by my father from buying such ones. The only way to get that toy was a financial offer for getting high marks. To be summarized, I tried really hard, but in every minute, I knew that the more difficulties, the more abilities to buy toys. At the end, when I had given amounts of money, I did not spend it for toys, owing to the fact that, I knew value of the money in that era.

To recapitulate, we can conclude that offering money is the best strategy for encouraging school-age children to get high marks. This is because it has viable effects not only on the educational system of a society but also on children’s learning about difficulties of earning money. Thus, I suggest that all parents should think about this strategy to have better influence on their society.