Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Nowadays, parents devote more attention on their children’s educational quality because this is an important aspect of their future life. There are many ways they use to increase children’s quality of learning and ensure their success. One popular solution is to offer money to children for each good grade they get in school, which has detractors and proponents. While many people believe that this way have disadvantage of expressing money more important than it is in real life, I strongly agree with this path and provide two important reason for support.

First, offering children some good prize for what they do well will encourage them to try more and be more successful. The best prize for children will be money so they can use it in their own way under parents’ control. On the other hand, some people may prefer buying study materials such as notebooks, encyclopedia and painting equipment for children as prize for their effort in school. However, I think this can be boring after a while for children and these are not any more interesting enough to worth trying hard for them. So, students become more and more reluctant to study since they don’t enjoy the results of their efforts. For example, I had a friend who was very successful in school at first and always received many prizes from parents and school staff but after six months he suddenly stopped trying that much. Once I talked to him about what had happened, he told me that I don’t like books that my parents give me to admire me and the time I spend for them is more than what I am received. This experience show that how important is the prize granted to children for them and one the most exciting prize is money.

Second, giving money to children helps them to gain ability to manage their own money and affairs and consequently grants them sense of independence and confidence. For instance, when I was in elementary school, I was received 5 dollars for each grade above A that I got in school tests and for competitions that I won. In average, I could have a stable amount of money each month and this turns into the money that I earn from my job like my parents on my mind. I started thinking that I was an adult that could work and have salary. After a while, I could buy anything needed for my own without asking my parents to help and this gives me sense that I can live alone in my childhood world. As you can see, it is beneficial for children to get certain amount of money and better to have it as a result of their own work and efforts.

In conclusion, although offering money to children for their good grade in school has its own opponents and disadvantages, but based on my own experiences, I think this works in a perfect way for children and guarantee their success in school and even higher educational levels.