Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From many years ago technology has affected human’s life in a way that it is not anymore similar to the life people had twenty years ago. In most aspects of life technology has had a positive effect and made life more pleasant. In the other hand, it has led to many problems. In my opinion reduced children creativity is one of the problems resulted from technology.

First of all, technology has attracted children more than adults. Since, many alluring computer games has been programmed as a result of progress in technology. Therefore, children spend most of their time on computers instead of playing in yards. In addition these kinds of games has a little addiction effects, means when a person plays, it becomes difficult for him/her to abandon them. This leaves no more time for children to do anything creative like painting or play with clay. As a result their brain paths will develop in only one direction. When I was child I used to play in yard with my friends and siblings. Handmade crafts were also one my favorite hobbies. But now my nephew does not do any of these activity. He always sits in front of computer and play computer games. He never goes anywhere without his tablet. I think all these problems are results of technology and the only solution is to protect children from rapid progressing technology.

Second, today technology makes everything available in a prepared form so, children do not need to think about anything. When they don’t use their brain to think, an undeveloped brain will cause children to become less creative. in the past children made many tools for playing for example they constructed something that can trap a mouse by using rope, wood and nails. After that they played with what was their own product. But, today everything is available in stores. I remember when I was child I needed to create many colors for my painting by mixing principal colors in different proportions. However today there are pallets of colors in stores which is more than necessary. Therefore, there is no need to think and try to create what is needed today. Which makes children less creative than the time when I was child.

In conclusion. I believe that although technology has made life more enjoyable and efficient, but it has created many problems. Since children spend a lot of time playing computer game and they do not need to use their hands and minds for making tools, one of the problems arose as a result of technology, is less creativity of children.