Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays societies are getting more and more complicated. Consequently, demand for experts is increasing and being expert in one subject is fundamental for successful career and life. Many people may believe that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects, while others prefer to specialize in one specific subject. In my opinion, knowing many subjects and being expert in one them is the best, since, these two are complemental for each other

First, to be successful in a specific field, it is important to spend time and energy on that. However, when a person wants to learn many subjects, it is impossible for him to learn all of them profoundly. Since, for this purpose, the one should study various books, search different resources and gain experience in diverse methods. Therefore it is important to know one subject thoroughly and being aware of every minor detail about that. For instance, in dentistry, the doctor should know every aspects of a particular tooth in detail such as number of fissures, pits, cusps, roots, where depressions are located on teeth and many other details. This achievement cannot be gained without spending years in college and dental offices.

On the other hand, these days, by development of multidisciplinary fields in technology and medicine, knowing only one subject does not guarantee success in one field. For example, a dentist need to know about technology of equipment needed in a dental office in order to ability to work properly and renew old equipment. In addition, a dentist should be aware of medical issues because diseases and drugs a patient consumes, affect dental diseases. Furthermore, it is not unusual for a dentist to face some medical emergency while performing dental treatment and he should have this ability to manage that situation. So, I strongly believe that in order to be a noticeable person in a field, it is necessary to learn about variety of subjects highlighted in that field.

In conclusion, under this circumstances that the society and technology are progressing rapidly, people need to increase their experience in various fields, while spend most of their time on their major field.