Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Financial issues is one of the most important headaches people have during their lives. Thus managing these issues is essential and needs certain ability to control money. While many people believe that children can have everything they want without considering financial issues, others disagree. In my view, children should learn how to manage their money and how to spend it. There are three strong reasons support this idea.

First, children will learn to distinguish between more essential needs and those necessary just for fun. Children should learn to ignore something less important to have something better. When parents give a certain amount of money to their children for expenses of a month, they will learn how to spend their money and know that there will be no more money if they spend it in wrong way. For instance, when I was twelve, I needed some materials for my art class, my father gave me money and told me this is your money and you can spend it as you like but you will not be paid more until the end of your class. So, that was the whole money I had. I decided to ignore some fantasy materials that were not essential and buy more important ones and now as an adult I know how to spend and save money well. Thus, this can be a good experience for children to manage their own money.

Second, children are taught to earn money on their own for needs. When children understand that there is fixed amount of money for them, they learn to try to earn money if they want extra. For example they can sell their handmade crafts or their painting to their parents and siblings. This will give them sense of responsibility and ability spend money carefully. When I was a kid, I always wanted to have income. So, I painted and sell them to my mother and she gave me money. That money was so important for me and I spent it precisely because I had tried for that. Therefore, this makes me responsible for what I needed.

Third, this will bring children sense of confident and independence. Psychological researches show that if children are in charge for some specific tasks, they will be more confident adults. Consequently, more successful they will be in work and life. When children are responsible to manage their own money they will learn to manage any financial issues that will be in real life. This brings ability to deal with difficulties and not to lose confident in harsh situation. Children will learn that they can overcome any difficulties by thinking and trying.

In conclusion, because of granting ability to distinguish more important needs, earn money alone and sense of confident, which are explained earlier, I think that managing their own money is necessary for children in order to be successful adult in future.