Some parents offer their school-age children money for helping with chores around the house.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

No one can deny that our kid’s participation in chores is less than us. They became more selfish and depended on their parents. However, is it fair to state that parents offer their children money for their chores around the house? From my point of view, personally, I agree with this statement for significant reasons which I will explore in the following article.

First of all, I believe that parents could encourage their kids to save money through this idea and buy what they want from these savings. I read research in one of the children’s psychological articles states that kids usually valuable their things more when they pay for it. Additionally, they will learn how to spend their money wisely. For instance, my son is nine years old. He helps me in home cleaning and taking care of his young brother. I give him fifty cents for each task he finished, and he saves this money for the end of the month and buys what he wants. I noticed that he takes care of his stuff better than before thebecause he pays for it from his own money. Now, we are planning to make a saving box for his college. So, he can pay for it with no need to take a loan.

What’s more, when kids get compensation for their services, that will motivate them to be more involved in the chores. We all know that children are usually lazy and argue when parents ask them to do work, but when they get paid for achieving this task, they will be more cooperative with their parents. Adam, my nephew, is a compelling example of this. He is fifteen years old who used to refuse to do any tasks for his parents because he feels that he is not directly responsible for these duties. Therefore, his parents began to give him some money to encourage him to be a positive figure in the family and the community as well. After a few months, he became a responsible boy who likes to help others without any rewards. He volunteered in one of the disability centers in the town to help them in transportation and food servicing.

In conclusion, kids should help their parents with chores because this kind of duty will increase their level of responsibility. Therefore parents may try to offer their kids money to encourage them for participation with other family members. However, that money may motivate them to save money and spending it wisely and will create a responsible person who can help the family and the community as well.