Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, parents tend to be up to their ears at work and hardly have any time left for their children. Therefore, I believe that they should spend their spare time playing games or sports with their kids instead of dealing with their schoolwork. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, this can help tighten the bond among family members. When parents participate in entertainment activities, not only can they relieve the stress but they can also create memorable moments with their children. For example, my father usually takes me and my little brother to the amusement park every weekend. He buys us icecreams and encourages us to play as many games as possible so that we can relax after stressful hours at school. Whenever we win a game, he gives us a big clap and even screams out loud to congratulate his little ones. We have a lot of fun and unforgettable memories together. These activities bring us much closer together.

Secondly, kids have been spending too much time sitting in class, hence, they need some outdoor activities to stay healthy. Working on school assignments may not benefit their physical and mental health in the long run, but playing sports does. For instance, I live in a coastal area, so my family often goes swimming. We can take a stroll along the beach talking together or play volleyball. I love the feeling of being out in nature, as the fresh air makes me feel relaxed and comfortable. In addition, engaging in sports games there can help me recharge my battery and be more energetic. Thus, parents should involve their children in outdoor activities in order to help them avoid a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, I think that parents should spend their free time doing leisure activities with their kids. Not only does it strengthen family relationships but it also allows kids to become more active and healthy.