Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of modern technology in this day and age, computer games have become increasingly popular among children. However, In my opinion, parents should not approve of their kids' playing computer games as it is time-consuming. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it does harm to our health. Spending too much time on screen will adversely affect our body, especially our eyes and necks. It can result in headaches, neck pain, and even vision issues. As children are vulnerable, they are prone to these health problems when playing. Take my little brother as an example, he is only eleven years old, however, most of his spare time is spent on computer games. He loves playing games so much that he could sit in front of the computer for many hours continuously without taking a break. As a result, after a while, the doctor said that his eyes were hurt, causing him to be short-sighted. That is the reason why these types of games are a waste of time so kids should not obtain permission to play them.

Second, playing computer games takes away the time that children are supposed to spend with family or friends. It might also interfere with kids' studying once they get addicted to the games. For instance, it appears that my brother considers playing computer games as his top priority, so he refuses to take part in any extracurricular activities after school. This prevents him from expanding his social relationships as well as acquiring new skills such as communication skills, teamwork, public speaking skills, and so on. Moreover, he tends to spend more time on screen and less time completing his schoolwork, causing his academic performance to be seriously affected due to his lack of concentration on studying. Therefore, parents should help their little ones stay away from computer games.

In conclusion, I believe that computer game has a negative impact on children, for it not only does damage to their health, but it also hinders kids from developing interpersonal skills and excelling in their studying. Adults should not allow them to play these games and encourage them to cultivate other healthy interests instead.