"Some people choose friends who are different from themselves. Others choose friends who are similar to themselves. Compare the advantages of having friends who are different from you with the advantages of having friends who are similar to you. Which kind of friend do you prefer for yourself?

There are many people with different ideas and preferences, also with preferences for friendship. Most people try to surround themselves with people who they feel are more compelling than they are. As well as, being different or similar have some advantages, and makes friendship more unique and likeable.

To begin with, there are many advantages to having friends with similar interests and preferences. First, people with similar interests connect with each other more easily; for instance, those people might think that they understand each other better and communicate more fluently. Second, when people share the same ideas, they can have more fun together. For example, if someone finds conversation difficult, it is easier for them to speak freely, hang out, or do activities with people with whom they share the same ideas. Moreover, they do not have to argue about what to do next because they all enjoy doing the same thing.

Meanwhile, when people have friends with differences, it has many advantages. By sharing their differences, they can more easily gather new ideas, obtain new information, and expand their knowledge. Certainly, when friends with differences from themselves get together, they can get excited to know why their friends think differently than they do, and they can discover the deeper meaning in their topics of conversation.

One way to get out of your comfort zone is having friends different from you. By exposing yourself to new ideas, new experiences and new challenges, it is easier to widen your comfort zone. That is why I would rather have friends who are different from me. Also, I can learn directly from my friends’ unique perspectives, or indirectly from simply observing them in their life. Furthermore, you have something to learn from every person you meet.

In either case, friends are valued in day to day life whether they are similar or different from us. Therefore, friends make us feel free and valuable when we are bound in a healthy friendship, also friends can boost your health and happiness.