"Some people prefer to plan activities for their free time very carefully. Others choose not to make any plans at all for their free time. Compare the benefits of planning free-time activities with the benefits of not."

Planning activities is a timesaver because it makes people more responsible, organized, and in control of their free time. In contrast, a lack of planning gives people less control of their actions, and it could even cause anxiety.

Initially, when people schedule their free time, it makes everything easy and organized. It also gives them the sense that they are in control of their life, and this action saves them a lot of time. For instance, they do not get distracted about what they have to do next because planning gives them the benefits to keep track on. For any reason their plan does not play out as they planned they have a chance to rearrange their plan in case it is necessary since they have the control. Additionally, how people spend their free time is an important part of life. The fact that they are enjoying what they do in their free time alleviates their stress, which benefits their mental and physical well-being. This helps them to recharge; moreover, it keeps them feeling energetic and motivated in their day to day life.

On the other hand, without a plan people can feel lost, confused and doubtful about what they are going to do in their free time. Also, when people do not plan, they start feeling that there is nothing to look forward to. For instance, a lack of organization makes people believe that there is no benefit to planning ahead, or perhaps their plan has fallen apart before, and when this happens people become even more disorganized. Therefore, people can start developing anxiety for fear that their plans will not be as successful as planned. For this reason, most people prefer to be more organized and self-aware about what they do in their free time because they know that their free time is essential in keeping them feeling motivated and satisfied.

In order to enjoy their freetime properly, people would rather plan in advance. All in all, when people plan their free time, they are conscious about how they spend their free time and the feeling of being in control of their actions makes them feel happier. In fact, life feels more balanced when free time has been planned correctly.