Some people like to do only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which do you prefer?

From the moment we are born to the moment we die we are all performing some job. Still, some outperform the others in every aspect of life. What makes these people so much different from the others? It is their willingness to take risks. Taking calculated risk is one of the most important common factors among all successful people. Personally, I prefer to take risks and try out different things every day.

One of the primitive instinct of human beings is finding out who they truly are and how they fit in in the grand scale of events. Although this instinct is very common but very few pursue it. To put it in another way most of us are not brave enough to forgo the comfort zone and challenge ourselves to address the question. I believe taking risks and trying to do new things is the only way to find out who we truly are. Take the case of my dear friend Ratan, he was comfortable in his 9 to 5 clerical job and never challenged himself to do anything difficult. As a result, he was never satisfied with his life. One day one of the sages in my town told him to lose his inhibition and to try something new. Ratan found out that he has a particular proclivity for soccer journalism. Although he never noticed it he was always giving briefings of soccer matches to his friends. Only through introspection, he found out that he is a natural journalist. Ratan decided to take the risk and apply for a night job in a famous soccer magazine. He was accepted after five rounds of interviews and now he is one of the best sports journalists in my town. Had he never took the risk of applying for that job he would never be satisfied with his life. A small amount of risk propelled his career forward.

As Steve Jobs said in his famous Mac advertisement "People who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world are the ones who do", I believe that unless we are willing to take risks we will never be able to put a mark on the world and we will neither be able to push the humanity forward nor be able to satisfy ourselves. For instance, if Gandhi never took the risk of starting a peaceful freedom fight India might not be independent today or if the Wright brothers never took the risk of creating a flying machine and lived a "safe life" we might not have airplanes today. It is the adventurous attitude of these great people and willingness to step outside of their comfort zone made the world a better place.

Tagore once said, "You can either go up or down". I think this is exactly the case with our lives. We can either create something, take new steps, take new risks or we can just stall back and keep on doing one particular thing. While the later might sound more lucrative and risk-free, In truth it is the more risky approach. We end up paying a much higher price.

Every human being is different and we are entitled to live our life the way we want, but all the greatest creation of our society was done by the risk-takers, not the risk-averse people. Taking small calculated risks in the right direction is what makes our life interesting. To conclude I believe my willingness to take risks sets me apart from others.