Some people prefer to focus on ambitious dreams while others think realistic goals are more important. Which do you prefer and why?

In today’s world, people always make several attempts to reach their goals and gain what they want from their lives. The major factor in becoming successful in life is the way which an individual chooses to access their goals. In this case, some people think that it is more beneficial to consider ambitious dreams to attain goals. However, in my point of view, having goals based on reality is the most important factor in being successful in most of the challenges of life.

The most considerable point to be mentioned is that if the goal is based on reality, it will help people to choose the best, and the most convenient way and materials to attain their aims. To be more specific, when someone wants to select a realistic aim, he should figure on all aspects about his skills, potential, and resources before making any decision. Therefore, he can comprehend the most efficient way of reaching the goal, and select the finest avenue. For instance, although, when I wanted to begin study to take TOEFL exam, in first sight, I wanted to take a score higher than a hundred, I understood that with the short time that I had in that period, it was not possible. Accordingly, I decided to be realistic and consider my abilities, and make a plan that will help me to take the highest score that I could. Consequently, it is important to make a goal with considering all aspects of our situations.

Another reason for this view is that when someone chooses his aims with realism, if he experiences failure in the way of attaining that goals, he will be able to understand the reasons of his failure. When someone fails in a particular task, the first thing that comes to his mind is the reasons of the failure, and just by being realistic, he will be able to comprehend the true reasons of his default. The next step after detection the causes is finding the way to solve them. To sum up, solving the problems of getting the goal provides a chance for him to try another time to reach the selected ambition.

In conclusion, with all this into account, being realistic in life, especially when we want to set our goals has an important role in being successful. Not only does it lead us to select the most convenient way to the goal, but also it makes a chance to compensate for our failures.