Some people prefer to live in the country. Others prefer to live in the town or big cities. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been engaged in a great struggle to find decent and comfortable accommodation. In today’s world, however, there is a heated controversy as to whether one should live in the city or in the country. As far as I am concerned, the advantages of the country life substantially outweigh those of the city life. I have a penchant for the country life for some reasons, among which the issue of health, people, and children’s upbringing are more significant.

This stupendous machine age in which we live, and from which we are just emerging, has taken the soul of human beings. Our cities today are afflicted with such social evils as hypocrisy, dishonesty, and deception so much so that there is no trace of morality among people. Practically, every resident of the city can be considered as cold-blooded, unwelcoming, and soulless robots rather than humans. On the other hand, one can enjoy the company of the righteous, warm-blooded, straightforward, humble people in the country. They have been brought up and inspired by unblemished, flawless, and impeccable nature, so it stands to reason that they are endowed with such positive and charming qualities.

Another privilege of the country life has to do with the physical as well as mental health that one can enjoy there. The tranquility and serenity of the countryside provide its people with the peace and refreshment of mind. In addition, the healthy diet of the people there guarantees their physical health. In contrast, the hectic lifestyle in the city and populations of any kind—noise, visual, and air pollution—make the city rife with stubborn diseases. It may be true that city dwellers have access to state—of—the—art hospitals and experienced doctors they can refer to while feeling unwell, but why should they become sick in the first place to be in desperate need of hospitals and spend the enormous amount of their money on treatment. They can live a healthy, peaceful and economic life in the country, instead.

The proper upbringing of children plays a crucial role in the family and social solidarity of any given society, which is sadly absent in the city. It is claimed that the elites of the society are mainly in the city and can be of great influence as far as ethics and morality are concerned. However, bad environment, improper associate during childhood, as well as exposures to immoralities and corruption that are raging in urban societies cause the youth to have criminal tendencies, leading to juvenile delinquency, disobedience, and anarchy. Those who live in the country, by contrast, can pave the way for a decent upbringing of their offspring thanks to the corruption free atmosphere existing there. Their children law-abiding, docile and well—mannered, which makes the country a utopia for any thoughtful, considerate parent.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I believe that the country rather than the city is the ideal place for living on the grounds that one can live a salubrious life, can bring up their offspring in an excellent fashion, and be with people whose company one enjoys. Let’s get rid of the hustle and bustle of the city life and seek solace in the country.