Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to so much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The Internet is perhaps one of the most important innovations that the last generations have ever witnessed. Nonetheless, there are divided opinions in relation to its effects. While some people defend the Internet as a tool that provides valuable information to its users, others argue that the big amounts of information that internet gives access to is quite problematic. Although I understand the second view, I strongly agree with the first opinion. That is, that the Internet provides people with very valuable information. To support this view, I would like to highlight two main reasons.

First, the Internet has completely changed the world of communications as we knew it. Not so long ago, the information we received was gathered, written and distributed from few news agencies deployed all over the world. Thanks to the different platforms to which we have access today, any individual can share information in real time. Importantly, this information comes from different sources and supports a wide variety of points of view. As someone who deeply cares about the environment, I found that the Internet has played an important role on the latest natural disasters. For instance, while the mainstream media still did not cover the wildfires in Australia, smaller communication platforms and NGOs already showed concern about what was happening in Australia. This allowed some groups to take immediate action and try to minimize the impact in certain zones.

The second reason is related to the diffusion of academic information. While books and libraries were the only possible tool on which a student could rely on in the past, today there is an important amount of electronic information available for students. This is very cost effective, as student now have access to e-journals and e-books from anywhere in the world. Moreover, this allows professionals from different countries to publish and share updated information. For example, in my case, as a dentistry student, I have heavily relied on the internet and selected platforms to stay updated with the latest techniques and cases.

In light of the above, I strongly believe that the access to valuable information outweighs the opposing view, that access to such amounts of information is problematic.