Some people say that physical exercise should be a required part of every school day. Other people believe that students should spend the whole day on academic studies. Which opinion do you agree with? use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Student life is quite crucial and taking care of health during this time is one most important aspect that everyone should be cognizant of. In my personal opinion, physical exercise should definitely be a part of school day. I believe this mainly for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, physical exercises like running and playing helps to keep students physically sound, which is one thing that most young individuals often struggle with. With the advent and significant rise in use of technologies, students are living a sedentary life. Students at home, often spend their time lingering on smart phones and laptops. On top of that, if they are encouraged to engage only on academic activities during school, their health might be fraught with plethora of diseases like obesity and blood pressure in their later stage of life. Physical activities, on other hand helps to increase the blood circulation along with boosting one’s immune function. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to eat a lot of high calorie foods and would barely do any physical activities. Consequently, I started getting fat and it came with a lot of problems for me. I used to feel dullness, nausea and vomiting most of the times. Thanks to my school, which started offering karate class, I started taking it. Gradually my health is improved and I loved the entire process.

Secondly, such activities aid to improve their mental functions as well, which is one major problem that students often face during their school days. Being student is not an easy task. Many of them perceive school education as grueling and arduous stage of their life. This is mainly due to the fact that, they are endowed with number of assignments, mid-terminals and final exams. On top of that, sometimes they fail to score as expected, though they put a lot of effort on their study. In such circumstances, they might feel a sense of mental pressure which can lead them to a lot of perils. Physical activities, on other had is a way to release such mental stress and anxiety. When students involve in games they like, they are likely to feel motivated and encouraged. As I said above, I would not have been mentally motivated, if I had not started off with physical activities.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students must be encouraged to get involved in physical activities during school days. This is because it helps to overcome myriad of common health problems and consequently aids in enhancing mental functions by motivating and encouraging students.