Some people think that the automobile has improved modern life. Others think that the automobile has caused serious problems. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Transportation has always been one of the most important aspects of human life regarding how we interact with each other. At the beginning of the last century, one of the most popular means of transportation currently used, the car, was becoming to be famous due to its usefulness. However, as every invention has its drawbacks, the automobile has its own, some of which I will mention later. Nevertheless, I believe that the car has been a great invention and has undoubtedly benefited modern society.

First of all, the automobile allows quick and comfortable transportation. Some centuries ago, people used to travel on horses, carriages, or foot. These means of transportation were very slow, and consequently, they last, in most cases, many hours or days. Later, with the invention of the car and subsequently, the invention of greater machines such as buses, and trucks, travels started to take incredibly smaller amounts of time. For example, between my city, Talcahuano, and the adjacent one, Concepcion, a regular car journey takes just ten minutes. This very same trip used to take a bit less than an hour when people do it on horses.

Second, the automobile has helped the growth of the economy. Markets need products from many places, so they need to be shipped efficiently, and motored machines have benefited shipping. For instance, a fruit market can have fresher fruits because the truck takes just a few hours to arrive from the countryside where the apple crops are. In some centuries this very same trip took some days, so it was not possible to sell some fruits which were not fresh.

Third, the problems caused by automobiles are minimum compared with their advantages. The main drawback generated by the use of the car may be air pollution. However, atmospheric pollution is caused not only by car but also by industries, flights, chimneys, etc. Additionally, many companies are working on producing vehicles which emit less carbon dioxide, being more environmentally friendly.

In summary, I am of the opinion that the invention of the automobile has been beneficial for our society, implying many more advantages than disadvantages.