Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The debate on the competition between preserving the land to cover human necessities like housing and farming and protecting the land for animals who are seriously at risk of extinction, have been going on for decades. While some environmentalists advocate for the wellbeing of animals over humans, others may think the opposite. In my opinion, protect the land to cover human demands takes precedence over animal protection. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the lack of space in big cities and the primary necessity of being close to jobs and schools, has provoke an increase in housing development projects and an expansion in construction sites. Is a general believe that life can be more pleasant and civilized in urban areas compare to rural zones. So, with this new tendency, the necessity of preserve more land has become a government's priority. In addition, because of the growing population, the necessity of expansion has taken precedence over other areas of interest, which have become a nightmare for developers that need to comply quickly with the city's demand. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I remember when I bought my house a few years ago. The neighborhood was small and quiet, with affordable mortgages, few cars on the road and noiseless places to visit. With the population's increase, the city's mayor, with the help of architects and other authorities, had to plan an urgent solution for an emergent problem. Starting two years ago, new houses and complex apartments were built, along with other amenities, and people started moving-in in a short time. Nowadays, the neighborhood where I live became in a beautiful municipality, where shopping places, theaters and restaurants try to please the high demand of population.

Secondly, is important to design an agricultural system able to support the population's demand, as well as to develop industries that provide jobs opportunities and ensure the well function and progress of a future city. For this reason, preserve the land is an important matter and people need to make aware on the importance of land preservation for future generations. Although animal conservation is crucial to keep endangered species from risk, I consider zoos and aquariums good places to take care of them. For example, I remember reading an article about the Ogallala Aquifers and the necessity of preserve the land and the water underground for crop development, so crops can continue growing healthy, providing the food supply needed to satisfy the increased population. Furthermore, the article not only supports the importance of land conservation and water resources management, but also invites to reflect on the overuse of land and the consequences for humans and the environment in the large run.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that preserve the land for building and farming purpose is more important than preserve the land for animals in great danger of extinction. This is because the land can be used to expand overcrowded cities, providing more space for houses, schools and factories, as well as for agricultural intentions to support the demand of the growing population.