Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible Others want to stay with their families for a longer time Which of these two you prefer and why

In some cultures such as Indian culture, young adults live with their families for a long time, say until they are married. In contrast, in cultures such as American culture, young adults move from their parents as soon as possible. While both have their merits, as can be evidenced by the success and stability of the respective cultures, I personally prefer the idea of young adults moving away from their parents as soon as possible. I feel so for the following reasons.

When young adults move away from their parents at a young age, they have to earn to make a living. The struggles that they encounter while finding a job and managing their finances prepares them for their life ahead. If they continue to live with their parents, then some or all of these responsibilities are handled by the parents, robbing them of very valuable experience. I feel that it is easier to work hard and learn from failures as a young adult.

Similarly, people have to make many tradeoffs in life, which involve making emotional decisions. If people gain the ability to make such decisions at an early age, they will be more ready for the long life ahead. This also puts them in a better shape in comparison to their peers, in this competitive world. When living with others, people tend to rely on others to make decisions for them. Though they might benefit from others' help, they don't have to take responsibility for their actions at a very early age.

Finally, I feel there are some disadvantages to young adults moving away from parents hastily before they are ready. This is evident in cases where students move out of their parents' homes before going to college. Since the students lack sufficient funds to pay for their college, they are forced to either take loans or forego college. In such cases, where students are apprehensive of loans, it is better to move away from parents after college. Thus it is important to time the move such that some actions which need significant help from family won't have to be sacrificed.

To summarize, I feel that moving away from parents as soon as they are ready to start their independent life allows young adults to achieve the necessary financial knowledge and emotional strength.