Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Others want to stay with their families for a longer time. Which of these two you prefer and why?

The issue states situations in which some young adults’ wants independence from their parents as soon as possible while other prefer to stay with their parents. I believe that not all situations can be analyzed by only looking at the final outcome but we need to start looking at the entire picture. In this case also we cannot say that one of the situations is better and so the person choosing the better situation is smart while the other is not. There might be some reasons behind why the person has chosen that particular situation which we cannot predict. Hence the decision regarding the choosing of the better situation will vary from person to person. Both the situations have pros as well as cons.

Young adults usually think that leaving your parents as soon as possible is the best thing as you will get your freedom. You can do whatever you want there is no one to stop you or no one who will question you. Sometimes getting such a huge amount of freedom is not good because it may lead you to make bad decisions as you have no one to guide you or in other cases you would not listen to anyone. This may spoil your entire career or your life also. Conversely, such decisions may also lead to positive outcomes in some cases. When these young adults have parents who make them feel unwanted or have a bad influence on them, distancing them from their may give them an opportunity to change their lives for better.

On the other hand the situations in which the young adults prefer to live with their parents for a longer time provide the young adults with the support or the care they need in their formative years. These people have parents by their side who can guide them to make appropriate decisions which may help them prosper in life. However, in such cases there are chances that the young adults become too reliable on their parents and cannot make decisions when given the freedom to do so.

In this way we can see that both the situations have positive as well as negative points. So we cannot decide which situation is better in general as it will vary from person to person.