The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is basically based on the records of two companies in selling homes in a particular town. Due to such records a friend is advising a homeowner to sell his home through Adams Realty and not throuh Fitch Realty in order to sell it faster and at a good price. So to make a final conclusion it would be necessary to understand the assumption the friend is making and how true do they stand. Initially the argument looks quite valid but as you look deeper various problems can be seen in it.

The friend makes a claim that Adams Realty is superior Fitch Realty on the basis of various data that he mentions in the argument. But how do we understand that the data mentioned is true or holds any significance as a source or any formal institution providing such data has not been mentioned throughout the argument. So the whole argument is just based on the random statistical data which might not even be true leading us to not believe in the claim made by the friend.

The argument also believes that the numbers of employee are directly linked to the success of the real estate firms which may not be true in many cases. Even if there are many agents working for a firm we cannot assume that all of them will be competent and help in the success of the firm. All of them might not even be working diligently to help the firm maintain its reputation while in case of Fitch Realty even though there are fewer agents who are involved with the firm they might be working to their full potential so that it can help the firm in achieving greater heights.

The Freind also states a scenario which is ten years old. During the ten years there might have been ample amount of changes that would have happened with the real estate industry in the town. So it would not be possible to correlate the selling of the house ten years ago to the current trend which is going on in the market. Hence this assumption that since a house was sold in four months ten years before and now it was sold in a month with a different real estate firm, it was the ability of the firm to sell it quicker would not be accurate.

Hence as we have found so many underlying assumptions which do not hold true, it would be wise to first undersatnd the argument and then logically deduce those assumptions in order to find out if the argument is true or no. In this case since the sources of the facts are unknown, the direct correlation between number of agents and success of the firm is not possible and the changing real estate market in ten years leads us to make a decision that it would be logical to not support this argument.