Sometimes filmmakers make movies that are based on books. When a movie is based on a book, some people prefer to read the book before watching the movie. Other people prefer to read the book only after they have watched the movie. Which do you prefer and why?

Watch the movie prior to read the book

One of the most important mechanisms of filmmaking industry is taking advantage of perfect books and turn them into a highly amazing movie. I, personally, subscribe to the idea that people should study the book which have been made the subject for a new movie before watching the film. I feel this way based on two main reasons, which I will explore in what follows.

To begin with, given the elaborate information found in the books, spectators will find a profound understanding of the movies made of the books. To clarify, obviously, the expansive sheets of a book is a highly better place for detail information of a story. Using this, writers exploit this chance properly and stick to every tiny detail and explain it elaborately. By doing so, they pave the way of reaching the concept of the book easily for the readers. However, short time of a movie, regarding its common form, does not allow the producers to take audiences through every detail and the audiences have to get many notions of the films based on the implications and the connection between various scenes. Therefore, engaging in reading a book before watching its corresponding movie provides the readers to grasp every subtle concept behind the numerous actions and scenes of the movie.

To add, studying the books prior to the films made based on them, audiences will be provided with the chance to see if the film was a perfect development of the book by the director. In other words, one of most controversial debates around movies which have been prepared on the basis of a novel or a written story is the success of the director evolving the book’s thoughts professionally. In this regard, expert audiences and critics expect the directors to expand the notion of the film not just in a simple reflection or a mere copy of the story instead, they want the filmmakers to add their own thoughts and intellects to the concept of the book. Otherwise, the produced movie will be criticized intensively. Knowing this, by reading the book in advance, audiences especially those who are the fond of the movies will find the opportunity to view the movie in a critical perspective, meaning that if the director has been successful to expand the idea of the book more intellectually and create something unique using the same story narrated by words of the writer.

In short, I strongly believe that we, as audience, should read the books on which a movie has been produced. Not only does the detail provided in the book give us a helping hand to better comprehending the film but also, it prepares a suitable bed to evaluate the film's success reflecting the book's concept.