As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university

requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1)students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of

study.

2)students must volunteer to work in the city where the university is located or their hometowns

to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town.

which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university. Why?

In the present day and life, there are always long breaks between universities’ semesters. Students can use the time to do whatever they want; however, recently, the university requires students must to take the additional classes that indirect to their major or volunteer to do some works. Different people have different opinions, someone may think to take the extra courses is a good choice for students; however, as far as I am concerned, the best choice for students to choose is to participate in some volunteer activities.

First of all, both of the students and people who are helped can get advantages from it. To be specific, by going to a primary school to teach young children simple knowledge, help elder people to do some housework or clean the community will let students feel that they are a part of the society, simultaneously, the standard of life of people who are helped will become better than before. For instance, last summer break, I joined a public organization, and I would go to an old people’s home twice a week. Every time I would bring some snakes that made by myself or cloths to the elder and spend a whole day to accompany them. At the beginning of the time, I couldn’t see any smile on their face, I thought they were very lonely; however, since the increase of the time that I chat and help with them, they became happier than before. Moreover, after finished this work, I felt the meaning of responsibility.

Furthermore, by contrast to the additional courses, students can learn a lot by joining the volunteer work, and they won’t waste their time. For instance, my sister is a freshman at the university this year, and she joined the student council. During the start of the winter vacation, they present of their council decided to let all members tutor a nearby their campus’ primary school children some simple knowledge, thus, students would not waste their valuable time playing video games for a whole day. What’s more, I felt my sister has much more patience than before. She told me that, in the activity, her job was to teach young kids the basic technique of making sentences such as personification, metaphor, and simile. A lot of children had no concept of these points, so she just from the very beginning parts to teach and talk about these concepts over and over again.

All in all, students can get a lot of advantages by participating in volunteer activities; meanwhile, it will ease the life of people who need aid. Moreover, the more positive things that students do, our society will become more positive and colorful.