As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

(1)students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study.

(2)students must volunteer to work in the city where the university is located  or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town.

which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university. Why?

<span style="font-size: 17.6px;">The summer holiday is always precious for college students, and properly utilizing it could benefit students a lot. Recently, there has been a hard choice in the following long break. Some choose to become volunteers and make a contribution to the society, while from my perspective of view, an extra course, which is irrelevant with students’ majors, would be more beneficial in the long run, simply because it can improve their interpersonal ability and give them a competitive edge during interviews.

To begin with, students could be more sociable than ever before, since an additional course create an atmosphere to communicate with each other, and even to cooperate closely in order to achieve the common goal. During this progress, amounts of friendship could be harvest and we all know that “Friendship can multiply joy and divide sadness”. Just take how I met Oliver, who becomes my close friend after the summer course, as a good example. Frankly speaking, I had known Oliver much earlier before our friendship was built. What impressed me most was that we were entirely different people. Once in a summer lecture, we were occasionally arranged into the same group. It was till then that we had the first conversation, and I realized that we actually shared so much in common. Had I not participate that summer course, we could still be strangers.

What’s more, attending an extra course would bring students huge advantages during interviews. Spending precious time in an irrelevant field seems to be ridiculous, but this kind of lecture provides an opportunity for students to enrich their knowledge from another aspect. Thus, compound talents, which are most wanted in this fast pace world, are cultivated. One of my personal experiences can be cited here to illustrate this. Since I had attended a business summer school, I claimed my point from not only a theological perspective but also a marketing angle when I was asked to talk about my opinion on artificial intelligence in my last interview, which helped me successfully impress the interviewer and get that internship. Had I not participate in that summer course, the interviewer would not offer me that job.

Admitting that doing a volunteer work, to some extent, does produce a positive effect on the society, what I want to stress here is that we can properly utilize part-time to do such things in the daily life, instead of wasting the whole break, because such a long period is extremely limited and should be organized to do something much more valuable and meaningful. Besides taking a course, traveling to another country, for example, would a wise choice as well, since we can hardly visit such regions during the semesters.

Hence, students would benefit from a different taste of course much more than volunteering if we take the long break into consideration, because it can enlarge their friend circle and sharpen their competitive edge. Indeed, we can devote ourselves to part-time volunteering.</span>